München

Posted: January 25, 2010 in Reading, Travel
Tags:

Hallo meine leser!  I have just returned from Germany and am filled with German beer, cuisine and exhaustion.  I will do my best to describe the trip as quickly yet thoroughly as possible.  My time in München was brief and enjoyable.  I will spare you a lengthy description of the long trip over there.  After delays and sitting in an airport for way too long, I received a business class ticket for my flight.  Also, during my time there I got to watch Minnesota annihilate Dallas in the playoffs and watch the first quarter of the Jets game, while receiving text updates from a friend while taxiing before take off.  About mid-flight (midnight EST) my father called up to the cockpit and the pilots informed us that the Jets had in fact beaten San Diego 17-14.  We both shouted for joy, much to the dismay of the passengers sleeping in first class.

After landing in the early morning and taking our rest (sleeping later than intended) we headed out to the Deutsches Museum.  The museum is essentially a mix of the Liberty Science Center and the Smithsonian Air Space Museum.  The museum was gigantic and we had only two hours to explore its holdings.  Most of our time was spent gazing at the impressive ships, planes and cars.  Among our findings we found an original U-Boat, various fighter planes from both World Wars (including a model of the Red Baron’s Tri-plane), dirigibles and a V-1 Rocket.

(In front of a U-Boat)

(A Red Baron Replica)

(German Fighter Jet)

After being kindly reminded that the museum was closing, we made our way through Altstadt or the old town.  We were searching for Peterkirche, but were swept up in various shops before we made our way there.  Daily mass had begun and were again asked to leave if we were not celebrating it (or at least, that’s what the German-speaking usher’s town implied).  We had some time to stroll through Marienplatz, St. Mary’s plaza. The plaza was incredibly well light and if it weren’t so cold, we would have probably stayed to enjoy it more.  Instead we went to the next logical place; the bar.

(Marienplatz)

At Andescher’s, we enjoyed a fine brew that is concocted in a remote Bavarian cloister.  We consumed everything; from the beer and house sausage to the local atmosphere.  It was quite a relief to experience something not so touristy.  My father, willing to call it a night was surprised when I stated my ambition to go to the famous Hofbräuhaus.  For those of you who have not had the pleasure of attending one of these beer halls, I highly recommend it.  There is usually a traditional, lederhosen-clad Oom-pah band playing folk music almost non stop.  The hall is so big, however, that the band does not drown out all conversation.  After having what I can for, a nice liter of dark beer, my father and I were off in search of dinner.

(Bier!)

There are many things that I miss about Europe.  The people, the fashion, public transportation certainly are atop the list.  However, the one thing I miss the most is kebabs.  Yes, this may sound crazy, but it’s just not the same at home.  I really can’t explain it.  But once you’ve had a European Döner Kebab, there is no going back.  Suffice to say, after a few beers my craving had been amplified.  We ordered our food and went back to the hotel.  Before I knew it, the kebab I was holding was already in my stomach.  Exhausted, I immediately passed out.

The next morning went by quickly; I was on the bus back where I saw the World Cup Stadium (the one shaped like a giant white tire) and plenty of hops fields.  On the flight back home I got to watch Mike Judge’s newest movie Extract.  For a blue collar version of Office Space this movie was a fun watch.  Additionally (with 7 hours of flight time to spare), I finished Azkaban, which was a nice treat.  Although I was impressed with the first two, this third installment was a bit deeper and easier to read.  I would have never suspected that Ron’s pet rat Scabbers was Peter Pettigrew, the wretched fiend who betrayed the Potters.  Other than that, most of the plot was pretty predictable, but maybe that’s because I’m 24, where the normal reader might only be 10 years old.  Anyway, a great read, I am eager to find out what happens next and if Sirius’ name will ever be cleared.

I hope you enjoyed hearing of my trip.  Unfortunately I have just gotten the impression that this semester’s work load is going to be very heavy.  With that in mind, I will attempt to persevere and post more of my daily life.  However, if it is a while between posts, please understand I have a lot on my plate right now.  Realistically, my next post will not be until my Rome trip the first week in February.  Hopefully that is not the case, but you have been forewarned.  Later. – M.

(Oom-pah!)

Leave a comment